Category: New Music

DMA’s Forever

Three piece Australian rock band “DMA’s” fourth studio album, How Many Dreams? was released on 31 March 2023. Formed in Sydney in 2012 their musical sound led to comparisons to the bands “Oasis” and “The Stone Roses.”

When Noel Gallagher (Oasis) was asked in an interview whether he had heard of the Aussie band that sound like Oasis he said he hadn’t and added: “I’ll have to watch them from side of stage and boo them.” DMA’s have explained that the comparison to Oasis was not their intention and that it mostly came from lead singer Tommy  O’Dell’s voice.

DMA’s latest single Forever is new this week on RadiJohan.

Mal Pope Marks 50th Anniversary With New Songs.

In the early 1970’s Welsh singer, songwriter, musician and producer Mal Pope signed his first recording contract at age 13 after sending a tape of songs to “BBC Radio 1” presenter John Peel, who invited Pope to perform at the BBC. The session resulted in a recording contract with Elton John’s record label, “The Rocket Record Company.” Mal has written songs for Cliff Richard and The Hollies, sung with Elton John and Bonnie Tyler and toured with Art Garfunkel and Belinda Carlisle.

2023 marks Mal’s 50th anniversary and he has written some new songs for the occasion. His new single, Looking For Love, features the “City of Prague Symphony Orchestra” and is new this week on RadiJohan.

Maria Mena Bares Her Soul

Maria Mena was eighteen years young when she broke through in large parts of Europe in 2004 with You’re The Only One. From then on the Norwegian nightingale captivated people again and again with her soft, fragile voice and profound, sometimes painful lyrics. For her new single Try Again Tomorrow she has called on Norwegian folk duo “Darling West.”

Yet once again it is Maria herself who steals the show, with a dramatic song in which she again lyrically exposes her soul. It is about going to therapy, about daring to admit bad days in life and about admitting your own feelings, about self love, daring to cancel plans and taking care of yourself in an increasingly hectic life. It’s about trying again tomorrow.

Try again Tomorrow is new this week on RadiJohan.

The Question is….

English band McFly will be releasing their new album next month. Power To Play will be their seventh studio album. One of the UK’s most successful bands, McFly have scored seven UK number 1 singles, released six albums, two of which were chart-toppers and have played thousands of sold-out shows. They have sold over 10 million records worldwide.

The first track released from the new album, Where Did All The Guitars Go?, is new this week on RadiJohan.

Like Father Like Son

Trev Lukather is an American guitarist, singer and songwriter. If his surname sounds familiar to you it will likely be because Trev is the Son of Toto guitarist Steve Lukather. Trev has released The Sound, the first official single from his forthcoming debut solo album, Invisible Friends.

“’The Sound’ is about hope of unity during a brutal time of division. We are so lost in our phones and ourselves. Lack of communication. War. Loss of freedom. Loss of human rights. Racism. Political meltdowns. Misinformation. Deadly earthquakes. We are derailing literally and figuratively. I wanted to send a message of how we are all on this floating speck in the universe together trying to find the meaning of why we are here.”

The Sound, by Trev Lukather, is new this week on RadiJohan.

Texas to Release Greatest Hits Album and a New Song.

Scottish band “Texas,” with the distinct vocals of “Sharleen Spiteri” burst onto the music scene in 1989 with their debut single I Don’t Want A Lover from their debut album Southside. It was a top ten hit in the UK and many other European countries. The band’s next two albums were less successful but their fortunes changed in 1997 with the release of their White on Blonde album which entered at the top of the UK albums chart and became their biggest seller.

In 2021 their single, Mr Haze, from their tenth album, Hi, made it to number one on the RadiJohan Top 10. Their next album will be a compilation, The Very Best Of 1989 – 2023. It will feature selections from the group’s entire career which has so far delivered 10 hit albums and seen the group pick up the “Ivor Novello Award” for Outstanding Song Collection. 

The single, After All, which is one of two brand new songs on the forthcoming compilation, is new this week on RadiJohan.

These Are The Best Days

American singer and songwriter Anastacia scored a global smash hit with her debut single in 2000. I’m Outta Love was a top 10 hit in numerous countries and the most successful song of the year in Australia and New Zealand.

Despite having to battle a number of serious health problems over the course of her life Anastacia has continued to release new music regularly over the past two decades. Later this year she will release Our Songs, her eighth studio album.

Best days, the first single to be released of Anastacia’s forthcoming album, is new this week on RadiJohan.

New Greta Van Fleet Album Explores Spiritual Themes

Grammy-winning American rock band Greta Van Fleet’s much anticipated third studio album Starcatcher will be released in July. It’s the follow-up to 2021’s The Battle At Garden’s Gate which reached the top 10 of the album charts in a number of European countries and the USA. The single Meeting The Master is our first introduction to Starcatcher. According to the band:

“Meeting The Master peers into an esoteric world heeded by the word of a wise teacher. Sung in the voice of a devout believer, and eventual group exclamation, the song details the love these fervent followers have for their teacher and their firm belief in his vision. It’s an exotic spiritual journey. Meeting The Master is a dark comedy that inevitably ends in chaos.”

Greta van Fleet’s Meeting The Master is new this week on RadiJohan.

Krezip Takes a Different Look at Life

Any Day Now is the sixth studio album by Dutch band “Krezip.” It is a collection of songs about seeing life in a completely different light and experiencing it in a new way, about how the familiar disappears and how things sometimes fall into place as a result.

The title track Any Day Now is the follow up to Krezip’s recent hit, In The Water, and is new this week on RadiJohan.

“Shaky” Still Rattles and Rolls

Michael Barratt, known professionally as “Shakin’ Stevens,” is a Welsh singer and songwriter. He was the UK’s biggest-selling singles artist of the 1980’s. His recording career began in the late 1960s but it was not until 1980 that his commercial success really began. In the UK alone “Shaky” has charted 33 Top 40 hit singles including the four chart-toppers This Ole House, Green Door, Oh Julie, and Merry Christmas Everyone. His last Top 40 single was Trouble in 2005.

Shakin’ Stevens has released a new single, the catchy rocker All You Need Is Greed. The song has received some fantastic reactions online, with many likening the now 75-year-old Welshman’s latest recording to the late-career reinvention of Johnny Cash.

The song is taken from his new album, Re-Set, which has already been described as “a seriously good album” by some reviewers. Shaky himself has commented:

Most of the problems we now face in our world have been brought about by the intense and selfish desire for excessive material gain, control and power over others. It may start as need, but quickly intensifies and translates into greed with no thought about the effect on others.”

All You Need Is Greed by Shakin’ Stevens is new this week on RadiJohan.